back

Great Unresolved Cases

text by Bettina Carl , 2007, published in catalogue Förderkohle, 2007 and in "second",
2008 © Bettina Carl, 2007

Ina Bierstedt explores the lyrical potential of painting. Given that the medium has been freed of its formerly representational functions, painting itself becomes the source and the motif of her landscapes, instead of a reference to real or reproduced spaces. On her canvases Bierstedt combines numerous layers of paint, fields of colour and figurative elements. Constructing highly complex spatial relationships, the artist questions the limits of her medium in the process. Textures and surfaces blossom into fabrics. Forcing oil and acrylics to coexist, she then waits to see what compound effect these chemical adversaries will have on her canvas. Paint also gets splashed around, and smeared or alternately applied with a very fine brush to create tidy little realistic depictions within the painting.

Bierstedt’s images are scenarios; her pictures do not tell stories. However, there is plenty of action. Some controversy is always being plotted, and the occasional cease-fire never lasts for long. Any silence is only a moment of pause before or after catastrophe strikes, because one senses that turmoil can break out again at any time. Wherever one finds a space where the gaze could come to rest for a while, the surface suddenly gets sucked into a whirlpool. A carefully rendered tree could be snapped in two by a merciless mountain range and then tossed out of the picture altogether. The force of gravity is completely absent in Bierstedt’s paintings; it is impossible to really set foot on such unreliable ground. Forms remain uncertain and emerge out of separate, unattached components. Whenever they do seem to consolidate, one still senses it may all soon fall apart again and disappear.

One might expect that such components would inevitably lead to declamatory and overly expressive spectacle-like compositions. Have we lost our way? Have we, along with the artist, gotten stuck in the thick mud of German romanticism? Bierstedt does, in fact, draw on this tradition. More precisely, however, her work is in line with a romantic attitude that expressly maintains an ironic distance to its own frenetic creations. The artist is able to keep this distance because she handles her visual material with utmost accuracy. For example, when borrowing the methods of Art Informel painters, she is never tempted to evoke a retro-mood. She applies expressive gestures or plays on the materiality of colour so that these abstract elements can equally play their part on the canvas along with representational images. And in the middle of an “informel” nowhere, one suddenly encounters narrative, humorous details: for example, miniature architectural elements, which have been copied meticulously from magazines for model train aficionados. While, on the one hand, they contextualize their surroundings as “nature,” on the other, they provide comic relief and therefore emphasise the artificial, theatrical character of the painting.

Looking at a landscape painted by Ina Bierstedt, one has the feeling of finding clues to a mysterious case. One senses that something disquieting has happened - something, however, that cannot be denominated. Drama is present, but only as an after-effect, as a sense of danger and disorientation. Yet Bierstedt's paintings do not entail pathos. They are rather small, for one thing, and they forgo the use of high dark-and-light contrast. For this reason, it is often hard to discern whether her scenarios take place during the day or at night. Her use of colour is subtle but tends to be rather turbid and bitter. Although particularly her recent works have a strong rhythmical quality, in the end, these pictures are silent.

Painting is the result—but also the medium—of a process, and this is very tangible in Bierstedt's images. Although the paintings unfold beyond linear narrative structures, their multiple layers of paint, stratified with an interwoven web of strokes, tell of the dimensions of time. In this sense, Bierstedt's paintings are like unusual stages that allow actors to play out different scenes in parallel, in the foreground and in the background. Albeit, what may appear to be simultaneous is always subject to a painting's laws of causality and contingency. Thus, Bierstedt's art remains highly ambiguous, and this is the source of its deeply felt intensity.

Bettina Carl

Translated by Bettina Carl

Bettina Carl works as an artist, curator, author and lecturer in Zürich and Berlin

back

zurück

Die großen ungelÖsten FÄlle

Text von Bettina Carl von 2007,erschienen im Katalog „Förderkohle“, 2007 und im Katalog "second", ©Bettina Carl, 2007

Ina Bierstedt untersucht die poetischen Möglichkeiten einer Malerei, die vom Gegenstand weitgehend befreit ist. Ihre Bilder sind Landschaften, die nicht auf realen oder gemalten Außenräumen beruhen, sondern aus dem Medium selbst entwickelt werden. Um aus zahlreichen Farbschichten, aus offenen Flächen und figürlichen Elementen ihre hochkomplexen Bildräume zu konstruieren, reizt die Künstlerin die Grenzen der Malerei aus: Ina Bierstedt legt Strukturen und Flächen in wuchernden Feldern an, sie verarbeitet Öl- und Acrylfarben miteinander, überlässt diese feindlichen Materialien ihren chemischen Reaktionen, sie schüttet und verwischt die Farben oder verpinselt sie zu detailverliebt realen" Binnenbildchen.

Ina Bierstedts Bilder sind Inszenierungen. Geschichten werden nicht erzählt, dafür werden Handlungen vollzogen, Konflikte angezettelt, ausgeweitet und eine Waffenruhe wird allenfalls provisorisch gehalten. Die Stille ist immer eine Pause vor oder nach der Katastrophe, denn man weiß, es wird gleich wieder losgehen: Gleich wird die Ebene, die das Auge sich als Boden gesucht hat, in einen Strudel gesogen, so wie das akkurate Bäumchen jeden Moment von einem unbarmherzigen Gebirge geknickt und aus dem Bild geworfen werden kann. Ina Bierstedts Landschaften fehlt die Schwerkraft, sie sind nicht betretbar: Ihre Form bleibt ungewiss, erwächst aus losen Teilen, in deren gegenwärtiger Verdichtung immer spürbar bleibt, dass alles wieder auseinandertreiben, alles verschwinden kann.

Man könnte meinen, aus derartigen Ingredienzen ließen sich nur dröhnend pathetische Aufführungen brauen; Haben wir uns also verlaufen, stecken wir hier mit der Künstlerin fest in schwerem deutschen Romantikgelände? Ina Bierstedt arbeitet tatsächlich in einer romantischen Tradition, allerdings in einer, die zu ihren aberwitzigen Erfindungen eine ausgeprägt ironische Distanz zu wahren vermag. Diesen Abstand erreicht Ina Bierstedt durch den genau kalkulierten Einsatz ihrer bildnerischen Mittel. So greift sie auf Methoden des Informel zurück, ohne dabei je eine Retrostimmung zu erzeugen. Denn in ihrem Bildraum nutzt die Künstlerin das Gestische und die stoffliche Ausdruckskraft der Farbe, um abstrakte Elemente als gleichberechtigte Akteure des Gegenständlichen auftreten zu lassen. So überraschen in informell gestalteten Umgebungen humorvolle, erzählerische Details: fein-fummelig aus Zeitschriften für Freunde der Modelleisenbahn abgemalte Architektürchen erklären einerseits ihren Bildkontext zur Natur", andrerseits sorgen sie für die comic relief, sinngemäß: das befreiendes Gelächter, das wiederum den gänzlich künstlichen Charakter, das Bühnenhafte des Bildes betont.

Das Dramatische ist also da, wirkt aber vor allem als Gefährdung, als Desorientierung nach. Man weiß nicht, ob es Tag oder Nacht ist in Ina Bierstedts Szenarien, die Farbigkeit ist zwar reich differenziert, aber eher trübe, eher bitter. Die relativ kleinen Bildformate und der Verzicht auf extremes Hell-Dunkel lässt kein Pathos aufkommen Obwohl gerade die neuesten Arbeiten sehr rhythmisch sind, die Landschaften von Beben erschüttert scheinen, bleiben die Bilder letztlich leise. In Ina Bierstedts Malerei bleibt das Prozesshafte der Bildfindung immer präsent. Jenseits von linearen Erzählstrukturen berichten übereinandergelagerte Schichten und Geflechte von den Dimensionen der Zeit. Ina Bierstedts Bilder funktionieren wie besondere Bühnen, es wird parallel in den Vorder- und Hintergründen gespielt. Und dennoch: was hier gleichzeitig stattfindet, muss sich nach den Gesetzen des Malens doch immer kausal bedingen. Diese Aura des Ungewissen verleiht Ina Bierstedts Bildern eine eigene, tief berührende Intensität.

Bettina Carl

Bettina Carl arbeitet als Künstlerin, Kuratorin, Autorin und Dozentin in Zürich und Berlin

zurück